• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Blonde Ale Experiment

smertz001

Premium Patron
Premium Patron
Nov 13, 2012
Houston, TX
smertz.net
As I'm quite new to brewing, I decided the best way for me to learn is to do and experiment. Today's experiment:

Two - One Gallon Batches. One will be brewed with Hops. One will be brewed without Hops as the control. Since I'm not familiar with hops and what exactly they do, on a sensory level. I will be doing a couple of these experiments as time and equipment become available. The first one will be with Cascade hops as I had a bunch on hand and wanted to see if they really have a grapefruit like flavour like others have suggested. If that's true then this hopped version could be quite pleasant.

Ingredients:
Light Liquid Malt Extract
Water (Ozarka)
WYeast 1056
Cascade Hops.

Control:
1# 5-5/8oz Light Liquid Malt Extract
1 Gallon Water

I used my 5 gallon pot for this. And got the water to a boil, cut the heat, added the extract mixed it in good, then got it to a boil and did the 60 minute count down.