• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Dry Mead

Barrel Char Wood Products

philt

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 17, 2022
Birmingham, UK
Hi guys,

I've been brewing beer for several years but fancied trying mead as the mother in law keeps bees. Have just bottled my first two 1 gallon batches, one being my take on JAOM but using Safale US-05 and the other being a tart cherry melomel fermented with an original Kveik strain (Ebbegarden).
I'm extremely happy with how they've turned out, I've done nothing to backsweeten, I like things dry and tart (big fan of Lambic beer) and the cherry one reminds me of a dry tannic red wine but slightly tarter.
Question is, why is so much commercial mead so aggressively sweet? Can't stand most of the stuff I've tried. Anyone know of any UK producers that make a dryer mead? Do I have weird taste? I would quite happily sip a chilled dry mead on a hot day in place of a white wine. I plan to make my next batch along these lines but will it be too bland without the orange and spices in the JAOM recipe?

Cheers!

Chevette Girl

All around BAD EXAMPLE
Lifetime GotMead Patron
Apr 27, 2010
Ottawa, ON