• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

want to make braggot

The Only Mead Competition Judged by Real Buyers

Bobbyisstrange

NewBee
Registered Member
Feb 18, 2014
Hello,

I am new to making braggot and or honey beer...does anyone have a recipe that is ready to drink after a month or so? I am to impatient to wait 9 months or longer. Thanks!

loveofrose

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
Nov 9, 2012
Texas
Your only chance would be a Braggot BOMM. It hasn't been tried yet, but it's on my list. I'll give you a recipe if you want to be the first!

Braggot BOMM - 1 gallon test batch
Add 1.5 lbs Golden LME to 3/4 gallon of water.
Boil for 1 hour.

Hop schedule:
0.5 oz Fuggles 10 minutes
1 oz Fuggles 1 minute.

Cool via cooling coil or ice bath.
Add 1.5 lbs Orange Blossom honey. (2 cups)
Add 1/4 tsp DAP and 1/2 tsp of Fermaid K.
-add this again at 1.085 & 1.052ish.
Add 1/4 tsp K2CO3
Pitch 1 smack pack of Wyeast 1388 activated >2 hours.
Top off to 1 gallon.

SG - 1.111
FG - 1.017
IBU - 11

You could use a different malt. I wouldn't get too heavy with hops as it tends to dominate delicate honey flavors. Citra hops would also be a good choice here in place of Fuggles.