• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

How to save an over honeyed batch.

Barrel Char Wood Products

Vendarien

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 14, 2016
So it is my first time making mead and I am doing 4 gallons of 4 different flavors. 3 of them are fermenting just fine but the plain honey mead is not. I used 5lbs of honey in it and have read that it is too much. Would I need to completely redo that batch or would it suffice to dilute it with more spring water and pitch more dry yeast? Thank for any help.

Squatchy

Lifetime GotMead Patron
Lifetime GotMead Patron
Nov 3, 2014
Denver
What yeast are you using and what was you SG? Also what are you feeding it and how sweet do you want to finish at?

Vendarien

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 14, 2016
I am using Lalvin ICV-D47 Wine Yeast. I didn't test the SG until after I added the yeast and it was reading at 1.17. The only things in the carboy are 2/3 a gal of spring water, yeast, and 5lbs of honey. I am looking for a very sweet mead.

Squatchy

Lifetime GotMead Patron
Lifetime GotMead Patron
Nov 3, 2014
Denver